top of page

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Our visit to Brazil was just too formidable to reduce to a single post, so I decided to break it into smaller segments. The first one, for Rio de Janeiro, is just a video. But what am I saying, “just a video”? It’s a video with a voiceover! Yep, I’m slowly making my way into Hollywood. Just you wait.

The featured song is “Bubuia” by the Brazilian singer CéU. The title means “With the flow,” which I find quite fitting to describe our entire Semester at Sea voyage. You can see the Portuguese lyrics and an English translation here. (By the way, Céu is short for Maria do Céu, Mary of Heaven or María de los Cielos, which is the name my parents had to use when they went to resister my birth with the Church, because back then pagan names like mine were not accepted!)

***

Nuestra visita a Brasil fue demasiado formidable como para reducirla a una única entrada, así que esta vez me he decantado por segmentos más pequeños. El primero, de Rio de Janeiro, es solo un vídeo. Pero, ¿qué digo “solo un vídeo”? ¡Es un vídeo con voz en off! Sí, poco a poco me voy acercando a Hollywood. Ya veréis.

La canción que aparece es “Bubuia” de la cantante brasileña CéU. El título significa “Con la corriente”, que me parece muy adecuado para describir el viaje completo que hicimos con Semester at Sea. Aquí podéis encontrar la letra en portugués y una traducción al inglés. (Por cierto, el verdadero nombre de la cantante es Maria do Céu o sea, María de los Cielos, el nombre con que mis padres me tuvieron que registrar en la iglesia porque por aquellos entonces no aceptaban nombres paganos como el mío, jejeje.)

bottom of page