top of page

Barbados

The island nation of Barbados was the smallest country on our itinerary, the one I knew the least about, the one I was the least interested in (there had to be one!), and the one that had the most unfavorable position: almost at the end, between the largest country (Brazil) and the most intriguing (Cuba). On top of this, the first day we were in Bridgetown (its capital) it rained practically the entire time and our planned guided tour of the city was canceled. For all these reasons, I feel that Barbados didn’t get much of a chance with me…

In spite of our disconnect, Barbados and I have at least two things in common: We were born the same year (I am 8 months older) and we both have Spanish names. Although it is unclear whether “Barbados” was taken from the Spanish or from the Portuguese, the fact remains that in both languages it means “the bearded ones.” It is also unclear who the bearded ones were supposed to be, but I like the theory that it’s a reference to the aerial roots of some of the trees, like the ones in the photo below:

Other memorable tidbits about this country, which I hope stick in my memory in case I ever need to show off my worldliness and knowledge of island countries, are the following:

  • Barbados was initially claimed by Spain, but it soon became a British colony. Consequently, Barbadians speak English (although I must admit that I had difficulties understanding it sometimes), love cricket, and drive on the left side of the road.

  • As is the case with many other Caribbean islands, the main source of income in Barbados used to be sugarcane, and the famous Mount Gay Rum is the oldest rum brand still in existence in the world. (No, we didn’t visit the distillery.) Currently, its main source of income is, of course, tourism.

  • The literacy rate is close to 100%! (And I loved seeing all the students walking around in their uniforms.)

  • Barbados shares the top place with Japan in percentage of centenarians per capita. (Could this be related to the fact that they have a national health care system that covers everyone?)

  • The famous singer Rihanna was born here. I don’t think I could identify her or her music in a lineup, but her name is forever associated with embarrassment in my memory because, a few years ago, while trying to show my students how in touch I am with present-day culture, I pronounced the “h” and they nearly fell on the floor laughing. That’s what happens when you pretend to be cool but your sources are mostly foreign or written…

We spent 3 days in Barbados, mostly relaxing and taking it easy after our adventures in Brazil. In the video below you can see some of the main highlights, which include:

  • Eating flying fish (which we had seen flying around the Explorer on our Atlantic crossing).

  • The rehearsal of a teenage fashion show in the hotel where we went in search of tropical drinks and internet.

  • Our visit to Harrison’s Cave, Barbados’s top tourist attraction.

  • A trail hike along the coast on the southwestern side of the island, starting at a point called Skeete’s Bay.

  • Views of Bridgetown and the countryside taken during our walks and bus rides.

bottom of page